Interview with Japanese magazine "Rockin' On"

FabriPav

New interviews from Muse are on the latest issue of Rockin' On, Japanese rock magazine. It covered 10 pages long including photos.

This is my first attempt to translate the brief summary of their interviews.

I’m not good at English so I’m afraid there might be a lot of mistakes

I hope you understood what I wrote here, and I would be very glad if this could be of some help

-interview with Matt

'Supremacy' is a theatrical song which expands the pomp and splendor of the sound to the extreme.

On the contrary, 'Madness' is a minimal and simple one which is stripped down to the limit.

This kind of sound contrast is based on all of the laws of the universe that repeats the cycle of expanding and shrinking.

About 'Follow Me', we transformed a rock sound into an entirely electronic sound.

But about 'Unsustainable', we tried a backward way of doing.

We recorded an electronic sound at first, and re-recorded it by actual musical instruments.

This was the biggest challenge for us.

'Panic station' is almost a funk track which introduced the brass section, originally inspired by Stevie Wonder’s performance at Glastonbury Festival.

This song also has a disco groove. (An interviewer said the song reminded her of 'Miss You' by The Rolling Stones in the late 70s.)

In pre-Muse period, we would play funk rock because at that time we were drawn to bands like Primus, Red Hot Chili Peppers.

And we also would enjoy listening to the ‘80s music like Prince, INXS etc.

I wrote this song remembering our early days when we were just enjoying music innocently.

'Madness' is influenced by blues and R&B, 'Follow me' gets closer to the beat of classical dance music.

In this album, there is bigger emphasis on groove and swing than ever before.

About my guitar playing, I tried to let my personality express naturally in more organic style.