bass guitar

nendo

Hello. I have been playing bass guitar for over 3 years now. and tbh at this very moment in time i feel like i am going backwards at an increassing rapid pace.

I was at one time an ok bass player. Not fantastic but ok. But now when i listen to myself play it just sounds aweful.

I am currently finding that i have lost my technique when plucking by fingers. it sounds aweful and i find it harder and harder to switch from string to string without causing a pause between notes.

I take it i have hit the WALL at the top of the hill and it now rolling back down the hill getting faster and faster.

Would it be worth my while in paying for a couple of lessons to get me back on track?

anyone else have these problems?

I feel like I have hit a wall and I'm not getting any better, although I don't think I'm getting worse. Maybe a couple of lessons would be helpful although maybe just sitting down and doing a bit of practice each day might help get you back to where you used to be.

I don't think that you've hit a wall, but that you've become more critical of your own playing. A few lessons should improve your playing, but you can also do some simple exercises to get rid of these issues.

just start out with some songs slowly, and increase speed to improve your plucking technique, SMBH should be good for that one, because it is changing strings etc...

Lessons will also be good if you know what to ask.

You would have to be retarded to get worse. If previously you were playing fingerstyle and to you it sounded good, and now you're playing fingerstyle and to you it sounds worse than before, you have serious issues. Go to a teacher! If he finds out what's going on (acid in your cereal?) let us know.

If it's just that you've got more critical of your playing, then that's a good thing, just keep practising.