A good DS/OD pedal

Paranoia Is In Bloom

Hey, I've been thinking about getting a distortion or overdrive pedal.

I'm not sure what to get and need some help because Ive been playing guitar for 7 years but i dont have many effects. Atm, I jst use the effects on my marshall amp (only 15W :( ) but I have a Vox Wah and DD-3 so it sounds terrible because i can only go Wah-OD not OD-Wah like it should be.

I need a good all-round distortion pedal for stuff like muse, radiohead, hendrix, clapton and other brilliant music :) Ive seen some like all the boss pedals are probably awesome but I could do with some recommendations :D thanks!

Wah is usually used before any form of distortion, otherwise it can be really powerful and not nice to listen to.

Anyway, the old black Marshall pedals are amazing, the Boss ones need modifying generally, except the OD3, but there's no all round pedal that'll cover everything, even the few you've mentioned there, I'd use different pedals and stuff for.

an eq and an od maybe?

the artists you mentioned are to diverse in their tones (fuzz, disto, od, etc) to get a pedal which can cover them all.

K thanks :) are most pedals about the same price as boss or is boss an expensive or cheap make?

I got the impression they're some of the best but are quite reasonably priced?

they are good in terms of quality, but i think they are too generic and "safe".

K thanks :) are most pedals about the same price as boss or is boss an expensive or cheap make?

I got the impression they're some of the best but are quite reasonably priced?

Boss is middle of the roadish for guitar pedals I guess (Can run into thousands for studio outboard), the SD1 and DS1 are about £40, so nice and cheap.

Some people hate Boss and think everything should be boutique, but in reality there's no such thing as a good or bad company as it all depends on what you want.

they are good in terms of quality' date=' but i think they are too generic and "safe".[/quote']