The visual-humor HOW-TO thread: how to Lolz, gif, Gimp, etc.

This is the thread for posting instructions and tutorials and links to same, for learning how to do Lolz captions, edit & copy animated .gif files, Photoshop and Gimp photos, and so forth. Even though I'm kicking off this thread with a set of Lolz instructions, I'm no expert on any of these. Any corrections, additions, etc. are most welcome. Just make sure you're clearly identifying what procedure/program/website, etc. you're referring to. If you have corrections or additions to make to someone else's set of procedures, FLANK YOUR INPUT IN BRACKETS [ ] and preface with your ID; i.e. "[Trilateral_...: but the other option may be more useful at this point for a newbie...]"

Okay, now to my Lolz directions. Here's the link to roflbot!!1!; this site works okay, has a few font options, but is sometimes unreliable (as is my 'net connection). OTOH, it's the only Lolz site I've used so far. I've learned to always save my completed Lolz-pic links off my post-in-progress as I go along, in a separate Word document, just in case my connection craps out.

You'll see this website (let's call it rofl for short) asks you the source of your pic. I never use the links right off the web, but always right-click-save them in JPEG form in my pictures folder/gallery first. This may add a step (like thinking of a meaningful name for the pic), but it has several advantages: 1) you can save dozens of pics in splurges of web-surfing, leaving the Lolz-ing until later; 2) you can then sort through your many thumbnail pics and put up Lolzes in interesting combinations, like pairs, series, etc. of pics organized around an idea, theme or storyline; and 3) a fellow Muser might request a copy of the original pic to do their own Lolz.

So, assuming you've got a pic to use for a Lolz, here's what you do: