Help with Coil tapping !

no3chris

or coil splitting.. ??

ok my knowledge on this is very little.

I'd like to coil tap my Motherbucker (yes i know i know, leaveeeeee it)

I know the options are vast but its the only pickup in my guitar (bridge of course) and im fed up of full power quad-rail tone now.

I need a new 1meg volume pot as mine has gone on a wobbler so i thought whilst i'm in there ill give it a go.

Ideally i guess two push/pull pots (volume, tone) would be used to control it but like i say i have LITTLE to NO knowledge.

Any help to push me in the right directly would be greatly appreciated !!

Ive confused myself even more the past couple of nights researching.

I dont know what i want it to do ?!

im thinking, two push pull puts and a switch.

The switch acting as 3-way pickup selector, top pair of rails, all four rails, bottom pair of rails

with the two push pull pots achieving... ?? removing a rail so it turns into a single rail.

does this make sense to anyone ? is that even tonally a good idea?

There is little to no SPECIFIC information on tapping this pick-up, that surprises me as the options (i'd assume) would be vast !

Did you check the wiring inside? That might give you some insight to the way it's been set up. In general, I would say: try and see if you like it tone-wise. If you don't? Change it back.

I don't know how your guitar is currently set up; pics/description of that might help?

I'll update this thread with pics, diagrams tomorrow !

i have ordered some pots and switches to start messing with.

Hopefully i can be steered in the right direction on here, thank you for your help ! :)

My guitar was basically an old strat type (HSS) yamaha pacifica, which i have since sprayed white, and installed the motherbucker.

It is just motherbucker>volume>tone at the mo. hence why i need more options with the one pickup :)

right i think this... is what i want. Remembering that it is essential two hot-rails in one humbucker housing.