Muse technical ability?....

Alizarin C

So I was wondering (not being a musician myself) for those of you who are musicians or know about instruments in a technical way..... what is each of Muse's best (technically best) songs (Matt-guitar, Matt-piano, Chris-bass, Dom-drums). I love 95% of their songs, but technically I haven't got a clue which songs are real standouts in that way. I'm curious to know some opinions.

:happy:

I play guitar. And in terms of technical skill, I don't think any songs are really SUPER technical, but Matt certainly has a definite unique style which often gets interpreted as him being 'pro' at guitar. He is a 'good' guitarist, but his 'technical' skill isn't all that amazing.

I'd say the most 'technical' songs in terms of guitar are:

Stockholm Syndrome

Plug in Baby

New Born

MK Ultra

Hyper Music

Hysteria

Knights of Cydonia (?)

Really though, none of their songs are have extremely technical elements in terms of guitar playing.

For matt's guitar, it's the live nuances that make it amazing.

If you just listen/play the studio versions it's not terribly hard, but if you've seen live performances, especially the older less orchestrated ones, some of the arpeggios, riffs, and techniques he mixes in are quite hendrix. And when also consider the innovations he's made with the manson, (such as the built in kaoss pad and fuzz factory) you've got one kickass guitarist ;)

as for his vocals, on the resistance particularly, they are out of this world.

here's some guitar luvin':

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5yXxUQptP0

there's no denying that matt's one if the greatest/most talented performers of all time :D

I play piano, and I'd have to say that the most technically complicated songs Matt plays on piano are the ones with the obvious classical references:

Neutron Star Collision (the outro is pretty hard to play, lots of octaves in both hands)

Exogenisis part 2

Sunburn (with all the extra arpeggiating in background of the song)