Yamaha Pacifica 112v or Epiphone G-400, which is better for covering Muse?

miracleYs

I'm a guitar beginner and looking for my first guitar. Two guitars have come into my decision, the Yamaha Pacifica 112v and Epiphone SG G-400. :)

I can't decide which one is better for me. The pacifica 112v is $300 and the g-400 is $350 in us. So just ingnore the price cuz $50 is not a big difference unless one is not worth the money.:D

I personally prefer the Yamaha 112v because the shape is a lot like Matt's Manson xD, and they both have alder tele neck, rosewood fingerboard, even the same silver colour! But as I said I am just a beginner who has been learning guitar for 2 months and only know a little about the guitar. and I care more about the "inside" than only the "look". :p

So please give me some advice that if which one has the better sounding, playing or longer lifetime value, then I'll choose that one. By the way, my final goal is to do cover of muse songs! So please take into consideration about which one is better for covering Muse songs. :)

I appreciate for all your help and thank you all in advance.

I'd go with the G400.

The yamahas are great guitars - some of the best for the price, but I don't think it would have the best sound for playing Muse songs. It appears to be basically a strat type with a bridge humbucker...I find that in most cases, it'll still sound somewhat like a strat no matter what pickup it has. The G400 will probably have a better sound distorted at least.

I can't comment on the playability - the yamaha I used to have was pretty nice though. There are some good playing ones, and some horrible playing ones really. (talking about both the epi and the yamaha...and pretty much any mass produced guitar I suppose)

I have a G-400, was the second guitar I bought... It sounds pretty good and plays well. The only problem I've had is that the neck likes to head-dive if you ever take your fretting hand off of it, which can be a bit of a pain.