Classically Trained or Self-taught?

Sancor

This is something I've wondered for a while because I keep hearing two conflicting stories about Matt's piano skills. I've heard that he is pretty much self-taught (which would be really impressive o.0) and I also have heard that he was classically trained (which frankly makes sense but sounds a little off when you think about Matt...):rolleyes:

Anyone know for sure?

Have heard something about how he did get some specific piano tuition at some point after school (at college?) along the lines of his piano tutor being a bit narked at Matt for not acknowledging the support that he'd given him. Or something like that.

I'd heard that his parents made him take lessons when he turned 6, but he gave it up when he started guitar at 14. And he only took it up again when they started writing for Showbiz.

Apparently the intro for Sunburn was originally on guitar then someone suggested that he try it on piano, so he spent a few weeks refreshing, which is maybe where the unacknowledged tuition story comes into it. Or maybe Matt was making up stories again :rolleyes::LOL:

I'd heard that his parents made him take lessons when he turned 6, but he gave it up when he started guitar at 14. And he only took it up again when they started writing for Showbiz.

Apparently the intro for Sunburn was originally on guitar then someone suggested that he try it on piano, so he spent a few weeks refreshing, which is maybe where the unacknowledged tuition story comes into it. Or maybe Matt was making up stories again :rolleyes::LOL:

yeah that's what i heard as well. i also read that his parents couldn't afford to give him lessons, and then there's the story about his brother teaching him the Dallas them song and his brother would make Matt sit in front of the piano and play it for all of his friends.