The "Why'd You Start Playing xxx Instument, Bro?" Thread

JimboMansonMB-1

Another self-explanatory one. Who or what was your inspiration to take up a musical instument?

Guess I'll start: Mine was when this video was showed at school:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lCXB_68VfQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSZv9KKf0g0

The energy of that concert, just made me want to play. That wasn't when I technically started, but it was when I really began to get interested and start practicing, etc.

I started playing guitar simply because I once found an acoustic from my sister's wall. I decided to try playing it and instantly fell in love with playing guitar :awesome:

Then after a while I got my first electric and have been playing guitar everyday since.

Oh, and I play piano too sometimes. That's mostly because of Muse.

Well I first started to play when I was around 10 or 11 on an old Teisco guitar, mostly I think because I couldnt take playing the cello anymore, that thing sucks dude.

At the time I was into ACDC, The Beatles, Guns n Roses etc, and for a while I was happy just playing riffs and chords along to songs. But then, I forget how it happened, but I came across this thing called the blues, and then all of a sudden everything changed. I never realised how expressive an instrument could be. You dont get shit like that on a cello, k?

I started listening to John Lee Hooker, BB King, Buddy Guy, Son House, Jimi Hendrix. Then once I learned the standard blues scale, it was like th guitar just opened up and all of a sudden I could play anything I wanted. And thats when I started to get really into guitar playing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYrVwGxlcFA